Land for Life Award

Printer-friendly version


Rewarding Leadership for Sustainable Land Management


The Land for Life Award was launched at the tenth session of the Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD) seeking to promote efforts for sustainable land management (F/A). The 2012 Land for Life award is a collaboration between the UNCCD and the Korea Forest Service, German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), the Global Environment Facility, International Union for Conservation of Nature, the Qatar National Food Security Programme, the Business Forum in Korea and the Elion Resources Group, China.

The Land for Life Award will provide global recognition to individuals, teams, institutions, businesses, research institutes, public offices, political leaders, decision-makers, journalists, media, nongovernmental organizations and civil society organizations whose work and initiatives have made a significant and innovative contribution to sustainable land management.

The Award will reward initiatives which contribute directly or indirectly to the regeneration and/or enhancement of soils' natural health and productive capacity or to the sustainable regeneration of depleted or drought affected lands. It recognizes innovative achievements which favour collaborative schemes, partnership-building across sectors, free knowledge sharing and capacity building, empowerment of vulnerable and marginalized groups and communities, and which foster gender equality, cultural diversity and social inclusion.

  1. Why Create the Land for Life Award
  2. Objectives
  3. The Prize
  4. Partners & Sponsors
  5. Application Form
  6. Selection Criteria
  7. Jury
  8. Terms & Conditions

In 2012, three awards will be granted from an amount up to USD 100,000. The use of the award money is limited to scaling-up the award-winning sustainable land management activity. The recipients of the Award will receive rewards in accordance to the kind of activities for which they are honoured, and free transportation and accommodation to attend the presentation ceremony on the occasion of the 11th session of the UNCCD's next Committee for the Review of the Implementation of the Convention. The laureates will be notified in June 2012.

A jury to determine winners is composed of qualified and geographically balanced experts and renowned men and women in the field of development, sustainable land management and soil science. The Jury comprising of ten prominent leaders (F/C) from the field of sustainable land management will select the award winners and determine the prize money allocation. The Jury includes Dr. Vandana Shiva, environmentalist and founder Nevdanya International, from India.

Other jury members includes: Professor Mick Dodson, a prominent indigenous land rights advocate and the 2009 Australian of the Year; and Ms. Yolanda Kakabadse, President of WWF International and former Minister of the Environment in Ecuador, Dr. Camilla Toulmin, Director, International Institute for Sustainable Development in the UK; Dr. Mary Seely, Founder, Desert Research Foundation of Namibia, and Dr. Dennis Garrity, UNCCD Drylands Ambassador and former Director General of the World Agroforestry Centre in Kenya. Dr. Joachim von Braun, Director of the Center for Development Research in Germany, and Dr. Naomi Kipuri, a Masaai anthropologist and Executive Director of the Arid Lands Institute in Kenya, Dr. Don Koo Lee, who is also currently the president of the tenth session of the Conference of the Parties (COP10) to the UNCCD and Mr. Luc Gnacadja, Executive Secretary of the UNCCD.

The deadline for applications is 30 March 2012.

The winners will be announced on the World Day to Combat Desertification on 17 June 2012, and honoured at the 11th session of the Committee for the Review of the Implementation of the Convention.

Download the brochure: LAND FOR LIFE

For more information:


E-mail: L4L(@)unccd.int
Postal address:
Land for Life Award UNCCD
P.O. Box 260129 53153
Phone: +49 (0) 228 815 2831